Williams, William A., a native of Germany, was born December 19, 1845, and came to this country with his parents in 1857, settling in Niagara county, N. Y., where he attended the public schools and the Lockport Union School. His first business experience was as a clerk in the hat store of Howard Strong, where he remained for three years. He then entered the service of Jason Collier & Sons, dry goods merchants, and continued with this firm until 1868, when he engaged in business on his own account, in company with Messrs. Lerch & Van Dusen, under the firm name of Lerch, Williams & Van Dusen, and after the death of Mr. Van Dusen, in 1869, the business was conducted by Lerch & Williams for ten years. In 1878 the firm of Williams Bros. was organized, which is now one of the largest wholesale and retail dry goods houses in the city. April 5, 1867, he married Miss Emilie Hutzel of Niagara Falls, F. Y., and they have two children, a son, Eric Johann Williams, and a daughter, Katherine Hutzel Williams.
Contributed 2017 by Lisa Slaski from Landmarks of Niagara County, New York, by William Pool, D. Mason & Co., Syracuse, NY, 1897
Niagara NYGenWeb Copyright
Design by Templates in Time