Shepard, William (deceased) was born at Lockport, N. Y., November 21, 1832, a son of James Shepard (deceased). He was graduated from the Union School of Lockport and at an early age took up the trade of mason and builder, serving his apprenticeship with his father at Lockport. In 1851 the family removed to Niagara Falls, where William at once established himself in business and from that time until he passed away, on November 20, 1895, prosperity attended his efforts. His building work was always so well done that it was a model of perfection and his sterling worth was soon recognized, hence his success. Among the most prominent structures at Niagara Falls that stand as monuments to his skill are the International Hotel; the Inclined Railway at the State Reservation; the immense mills of Schoellkopf & Matthews, and many of the finest residences of the city. His last important contracts were the building of the great plant of the Carborundum Company and the Shelter house on Goat Island. Mr. Shepard was a man of fine mind and of domestic tastes, preferring his home to outside organizations, being a member of the Royal Templars and the A. O. U. W. In 1855 he married Anna Belle Livingston, and they had four sons: James L., George G., Will A. and Charles T., one daughter, Jessie A., all of whom survive, and one daughter, Jennie, who died at the age of twenty-three, in 1882.
Contributed 2017 by Lisa Slaski from Landmarks of Niagara County, New York, by William Pool, D. Mason & Co., Syracuse, NY, 1897
Niagara NYGenWeb Copyright
Design by Templates in Time