Morgan, John C., was born at Fairview, Erie county, Pa., August 8, 1855, and received his education in the public schools of his native town and for a short time attended a business college in Michigan. At the age of twenty-three he entered into a partnership with H. F. Watson, a paper manufacturer at Erie, Pa. At the end of three years he removed to Battle Creek, Mich., where he erected a paper mill and continued in business until 1889, when he sold out to the American Strawboard Company of Chicago, remaining with them under contract for two years as assistant general manager of their twenty eight paper mills In March, 1892, Mr. Morgan removed to Niagara Falls, N.Y., and commenced the construction of the plant of the Niagara Falls Paper Company, of which company he is secretary and general manager. The mill was completed in May, 1893, and run by steam power until January, 1894. Upon the completion of the big plant and tunnel of the Niagara Falls Power Company the works of the paper mill were operated by that power. Mr. Morgan is a man of sterling worth, of liberal education and of wide experience and influence, and is highly honored and esteemed by all. He is a director of the Electric City Bank of Niagara Falls and is otherwise identified with the business interests of the city. December 22, 1881, Mr. Morgan married Hattie, daughter of George Dewey, of Ashtabula, O., and they have one daughter, Gladys.
Contributed 2017 by Lisa Slaski from Landmarks of Niagara County, New York, by William Pool, D. Mason & Co., Syracuse, NY, 1897
Niagara NYGenWeb Copyright
Design by Templates in Time